Ignition Interlock Devices and Missouri DWIs

Ignition Interlock Devices and Missouri DWIsAn ignition interlock device (IID) is a small device that is capable of detecting alcohol on your breath. The device connects to your vehicle’s ignition and prevents you from starting the car if you cannot pass a breath test. This device is designed to keep drunk drivers off of the road, which is why DWI offenders are often required to use them. Here’s what you need to know about ignition interlock devices and DWIs:

Who is Required to Use Ignition Interlock Devices?

DWI offenders are required to use an IID once they are back on the road. First-time DWI offenders will have their driving privileges suspended for a period of 30 days. After the 30 days is over, first-time offenders can obtain a 60-day restricted driving privilege (RDP) if they show proof that they have obtained SR-22 car insurance.

However, many first-time DWI offenders do not want to wait 30 days to obtain a RDP. Some first-time offenders can qualify for an immediate restricted license, but they must have proof that an IID has been installed in their vehicle and that they have SR-22 car insurance.

Repeat DWI offenders will also have their driving privileges taken away, but they may not qualify for RDPs. Instead, repeat offenders may obtain a limited driving privilege (LDP). Similar to a RDP, a LDP is only issued when a driver has proof of IID installation and SR-22 insurance, and has sent the LDP form to the Department of Revenue (DOR).

Repeat DWI offenders who do not obtain a LDP or RDP will still need to have an IID installed in order to reinstate their driving privileges in the future.

How to Properly Use An Ignition Interlock Device

There are certain rules that DWI offenders must follow when using an IID. For example, DWI offenders cannot ask someone else to blow into the device for them. They also cannot fail any breath tests, which means they tried to start their vehicle after consuming alcohol. Removing an IID before you are allowed to do so or tampering with the device in an attempt to manipulate the results is also not allowed.

If you violate the rules of using an IID, you could lose your driving privileges or be ordered to use the IID for a longer period time of time. To avoid these consequences, it’s best to ask your attorney if you are ever in doubt about the rules you need to follow.

Don’t face DUI charges alone–let the experienced criminal defense attorneys at The Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center at the Benjamin Law Firm, LLC protect your rights. Our attorneys will stand by your side and fight for your freedom through every step of the legal process. Call our office at 816-322-8008, email us at info@benjaminlawkc.com or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a free consultation today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.